Final critique and final alterations

Posted on Updated on

Printing at uni was cheaper than I thought. £4 for the 32 page A6 booklet. I used 130gsm cartridge paper, It’s got a nice texture, but perhaps too much texture. I went with the same weight for cover as inside which I think does make it easier to flick through.

I am really happy with how it all feels. If I decide to bind them all myself I would need to change the direction I fold the paper – the grain was going against me for this copy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-19 at 19.45.24Above is the quote from a national ‘courier delivery’ printers called Stuprint (15 copies). HOWEVER I have been promised 25% off this price because I struck up a sponsorship deal with the company. Which would come to approx £2.50 each if I do standard print, or £2.97 if I do green print. Amazingly good price.

I have a few final amendments to make to the book before the final printing:

IMG_3604
This text will be changed to regular style to match the front cover subtitles
IMG_3603
I incorrectly bound this with the grain of the paper going the wrong way – which causes these creases. Also the dots are too faint.
IMG_3601
Background colour too faint.
IMG_3600
Background colour too faint.
IMG_3599
Background colour too faint.
IMG_3598
Just being pedantic but the writing on his shirt is too straight for me, I will slightly rotate it in photoshop.
IMG_3597
The gap of colour in the gutter is a bit nasty. Might have to google a solution to this problem.
IMG_3596
The footer is too faint. It has a texture to it which is interesting but not intentional.
IMG_3595
The creep settings mean that theres a nasty white gap down the spine. Will look into adjusting the bleed of the illustrations to counter this.
IMG_3594
The pains of saddlestitch. Annoyingly splits itself so easily down the middle. Paper weight could change this.
IMG_3593
The best way to crop a booklet – when it is folded
Leave a Reply

