Inspiration: Ricky Gervais’ Flanimals

Posted on

One of the inspirations to Know Your Litterbugs was Ricky Gervais’ Flanimals. It’s a book all about strange and wonderful creatures that have come into existence through Ricky’s crazy mind.

The illustrations are hilarious, the writing is even funnier. This was the same concept I wanted to ring true for my book, but focusing on a a cultural issue. There are several books in the series, including Flanimals of the deep, and recently Flanimals – A Complete Natural History. With my book I imagine there could be a similar series – Litterbugs in University, Litterbugs of the future etc.

flan31st
Spotter’s guide was a term I have used in my book as well. There is something funny about pretending that people could actually be on the look-out for these creatures outside their homes.
stj24-l
I’m not actually that big a fan of the illustration style, but it really is vivid and certainly amusing.
weezytong
The book involves several groups of species with other names.

dsc00351

The books make me think that maybe for the text I might have changed it into a single paragraph about each Litterbug, instead of sections. This would perhaps give more scope for being funny. That being said, I think my style of writing is easier to have a quick read, to dip in and out, as opposed to have to read an entire paragraph.

Leave a Reply

