Product Design Research: PICK ME UP FESTIVAL

Posted on Updated on

I went to ‘Pick Me Up’ festival for graphic arts to help inspiration flow for my Pop-up shop object.

I have to manufacture 10 of the same object to sell at the end of term. It can be whatever I would like.

I looked at objects that caught my imagination. Many were based around simple but effective ideas. Things that had not been done before, or had been done in a new way. 3D structures such as the following were really engaging, even as photographs.

IMG_3482 IMG_3483 IMG_3484

There were loads of great printing styles that caught my attention. This way of printing could work for packaging up a variety of types of objects.

IMG_3485  IMG_3490

The interior design complimented the style of the showcases of work.

IMG_3503
Great shop design – reminded me of the idea of physical pixels.
IMG_3497
Watermelon candle – simple idea executed very well.
IMG_3502
Really tactile way of binding. The big plastic coil style is better than lame smaller notebook styles.
IMG_3505
Acrylic Coaster set

Below are some really simple objects for sale that still stood out.

IMG_3499
Gorilla eraser – the kind of humor I would love to replicate
IMG_3501
Something reallt beautiful about these patches. A backpack covered in these would look pretty sick.
IMG_3493
So basic – just pencil on paper cups. Colour isn’t needed here in my opinion.

IMG_3487    IMG_3495  IMG_3494    IMG_3498   IMG_3507

Leave a Reply

